City Council

Current Council Members include:

  • Mayor Karen Sheek
  • Mayor Pro-tem Orly Lucero
  • Councilmember Mike Lavey
  • Councilmember Vacant
  • Councilmember Gary Noyes
  • Councilmember Sue Betts
  • Councilmember Ty Keel

April 2020 Newly Elected City Councilmembers. To be sworn in on April 28, 2020

  • Rachel Medina
  • Arlina Yazzie
  • David Rainey
  • Amy Huckins
  • Sue Betts

Council Meeting

City Council Requirements

The City Council consists of seven members. No person shall be eligible to office as a council member unless at the time of election he or she is a citizen of the United States, at least twenty-one years of age and shall have been for one year immediately preceding such election a resident of the city.

A municipal election for council members is held on the first Monday in April in even numbered years. Council members shall be paid every two weeks. No council person shall receive a payment for a meeting which he or she did not attend. The mayor shall receive as compensation $500 per month.

Each of the other council members shall receive as compensation $400 per month. For information on council election, please see Elections. Work Sessions begin usually at 6 p.m.