GovernmentResidentsBusinessVisitingHow Do I?
Current Weather
Sunny 11°
Click to Home

Go To Search
City Council
Current Councilmembers include:
      Mayor Karen Sheek
      Mayor Pro-tem Ty Keel
      Councilmember Bob Archibeque
      Councilmember Tim Miller
      Councilmember Jill Carlson
      Councilmember Shawna McLaughlin
      Councilmember Orly Lucero

Council Meeting
          Cortez City Hall
           123 Roger Smith Avenue, Cortez

City Council Requirements
The City Council consists of seven members. No person shall be eligible to office as a councilmember unless at the time of election he or she is a citizen of the United States, at least twenty-one years of age and shall have been for one year immediately preceding such election a resident of the city.

A municipal election for councilmembers is held on the first Monday in April in even numbered years. Councilmembers shall be paid every two weeks. No council person shall receive a payment for a meeting which he or she did not attend. The mayor shall receive as compensation $500 per month.

Each of the other councilmembers shall receive as compensation $400 per month. For information on council election, please see Elections. Worksessions begin usually at 6 p.m.

Contact Us
Linda L. Smith
City Clerk

123 Roger Smith Ave.
Cortez, CO 81321

Ph: 970-564-4008
Fx: 970-565-8172

Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.